Jerusalem Bells

This past week was our first week of digging. Its going pretty well. We found an egyptian scarab bead which was very cool. The weather here is getting much hotter and it is becoming more and more important to get a lot of water. I am having to take water breaks a few times and hour just to keep up. I might should even do more than that! This week end was one to remember though.

We spent the entire weekend in Jerusalem. We stayed in the National Hotel just outside the old city. It was a very nice hotel with very friendly staff and great access to the city. We got to Jerusalem just in time to run down to the Western Wall and be there for Sabbat. It was very spiritual experience. I got to touch the Western Wall and pray there. It was very cool. On Saturday we walked all over the old city and saw all the sites: The Church of the Holy Sepulcher, the Tomb of Mary, A really old Coptic Christian Church, The Garden Tomb, Golgotha, and then we went shopping. I got some really cool stuff for my wife and daughter and a couple of small things for myself. I guess I need to get something for my son, even though he is too young to understand. On Saturday evening we went up to the Mount of Olives and visited the Garden of Gethsemane which was very cool. We then watched the Sunset over Jerusalem. Really really amazing. I had a great time. Jerusalem is a huge city and is very crowed and people drive like a kind of crazy that I have never seen before. It was a bit un-nerving.  On Sunday we went into the City of David and we got to go onto the Temple Mount and touch the Dome of the Rock. Very cool.  It really was a great trip. I hope we get to go again.

Leave a Reply

